Books We’re Reading: Digging a Hole, With “The Catcher in the Rye”

“Women kill me. They really do. I don’t mean I’m oversexed or anything like that- although I am quite sexy. I just like them, I mean. They’re always leaving their goddam bags out in the middle of the aisle.” – J.D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye

As of now, our lovely journey has led us up the charts to chapter nine. In a bit here, some of these updates will begin to cut down, but for now enjoy as they come fresh out of the 11123472243_cf579a6a81_boven!

So with the page numbers growing,Holden’s personality is budding all the same. However, I’ll admit that in this section the boy was getting a tiny bit annoying. A scratch perhaps past the border he’s already been pushing on. In this area, Holden begins to get more interactive out of the educational system. He calls a few people, talks to practical strangers, and even just… blatantly watches other people for a while. Readers are thrown more thoughts and personal inquiries, a bit past the usual due to this non committed divide. We experience the growth of all these character relationships, but little sit comfortable.

Especially, I must point out, his conversations with the two women in this section. Both were tense and awkward with hints of infatuation. And even though readers are supposed to get to know Holden at a personal level through how the book is written, some thoughts and emotions seemed a bit “T.M.I”to me. Which is honestly quite disappointing, since in the areas I showed interest in before I wouldn’t have minded being so personal. Yet william_penn_hotel_light_showinstead of attention to Holden’s hostile moods and quirky pet-peeves, I was handed paragraphs of flirting with older women.
So yes, while I understand that this is only to develop Holden’s teenage….urges, shall we
say, it just felt like it was in the wrong place to me. Though, in a positive twist, I can only pray that these interactions cause something important in the book later for a more understandable purpose. I’ll just have to keep reading, I suppose.

Thank you!

One thought on “Books We’re Reading: Digging a Hole, With “The Catcher in the Rye”

Leave a Reply

